For I will do mine

Ever read a book or watch tv/a movie as a kid and have something really stand out to you?

Like, you don’t even consciously pick up that you have remembered it. Or that you have taken that message to heart. But later on in life you come across it again and you realise how much of an impact it had on your life.

For me, I think I was about 11-13(ish) when I first saw The Count of Monte Cristo and I watched it again recently and this part hit me hard. I realised how much I had be affected, positively, by this passage of speech. How I sort of lived my life by these words… how I got my fight and unwavering determination to keep moving forward.

“Life is a storm, my young friend. You will bask in the sunlight one moment, be shattered on the rocks the next. What makes you a man is what you do when that storm comes. You must look into that storm and shout as you did in Rome. Do your worst, for I will do mine”

Do your worst, for I will do mine. …

Leave a Reply

