January!

I didn’t post yesterday because, for me, the New Year’s post was on Jan 1st. Just after midnight but it totally counts.

I have made some resolutions, sort of, they include meditation to both start and finish the day (I read that a study has proved 20 minutes of meditation can help with chronic pain), to start each day with a glass of water and I am going to try and find an easy activity that works for me. Whether it’s yoga or tai chi or some pool work… I don’t know yet but I am willing to find out.

I found an app for meditation, it’s called Stop, breathe and think it has a check in of how you’re feeling mentally, physically and emotionally. I find the woman’s voice as she talks you through the meditation very soothing and for the past few nights I’ve used it to help put me to sleep.

My sister came round with an old Mi Fit band that she doesn’t want. It works perfectly well so I charged it and am using it. I set a goal of 2000 steps a day (the lowest you can do), and reached about 5000 yesterday. It also tracks my sleep so I can see how much deep sleep I’m getting each night and I might be able to correlate that in some way or another to good days or bad. Maybe.

Isn’t it interesting that with the start of a new year, even though it’s really just another day, people feel excited and hopeful and willing to try new things… until it all just sort of dwindles down into the same old routine. I am determined this won’t happen. My goal is to do the first 2 resolutions for every day in January because it takes 21 days to start a habit. That’s 3 weeks, I’m giving myself a month.

I want to have a year that isn’t as muddled by pain and stress as the last one was. It might be wishful thinking, it might not happen but I won’t know until I try.

Do you have any resolutions? Or goals? That you want to share?

Take care of you.

Leave a Reply

